Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Browsing items in: Buildings

(110 results)



Display: 20

    • 001. Aerial 1885

    • Campus Buildings
    • Map of the campus in 1885. The campus included the following buildings by this year: Old Main, Old Main Annex and the Drill Hall/Gymnasium.
    • 1885
    • 002. Aerial 1892

    • Campus Buildings
    • Map of the campus in 1892. On the aerial map for this year the following buildings are listed: Old Main, Old Main Annex, Drill Hall/Gymnasium, Observatory, residances of the President and Vice-President, Riding Hall, Laundry and Stables.
    • 1892
    • 003. Aerial 1942

    • Campus Buildings
    • Aerial view of the campus in 1942. The campus included the following new buildings by this year: Alumni Lodge, Hyatt Hall, The Armory, and Memorial Stadium.
    • 1942
    • 004. Aerial 1947

    • Campus Buildings
    • Map of the campus in 1947. The campus included the following new buildings by this year: 1st Webb Hall, Dyer Hall, Dyer Annex, Spang Hall, Taitt Hall, and an Engineering Building.
    • 1947
    • 005. Aerial 1959

    • Campus Buildings
    • Aerial view of the campus in 1959. The campus included the following new buildings by this year: PMC Memorial Library and the dormitories Howell Hall, Turrell Hall and Cann Hall (part of the dorm complex located on 14th Street).
    • 1955
    • 006. Aerial 1965

    • Campus Buildings
    • Aerial view of the campus in 1965. The campus included the following new buildings by this year: Alumni Auditorium, 2nd Webb Hall, Loveland and Victory Halls, MacMorland Center, Sharples Hall, Kirkbride Hall and the dormitories Hanna Hall, Thayer...
    • 1965
    • 007. Aerial 1975

    • Campus Buildings
    • Aerial view of the campus in 1975. The campus included the following new buildings by this year: The Carriage House, Student Health Services, The Castle, Schwatz Center, Wofgram Memorial Library, Counseling Center and Kapelski Learning Center.
    • 1975
    • 008. Aerial  1984

    • Campus Buildings
    • Aerial view of the campus in 1984. The campus included the following new buildings by this year: Dixon Halls North and South, Hannum House, The Manor House, Widener Courts, Andorn House, Sparrow Hall, Alsop-Bullock Houses, Moll Hall, Carolyn Helms...
    • 1984
    • 009. Aerial 1997

    • Campus Buildings
    • Aerial view of the campus in 1984. The campus included the following new buildings by this year: Academic Center North, Lathem Hall, Boettner Hall and Theatre Widener.
    • 1997
    • 010. Map 2008

    • Campus Buildings
    • Map of the campus in 2008. The campus included the following new buildings by this year: Cottee Hall, University Center, PMC Museum, Bruce Hall, Quick Center, Kirkbride Wing, Metropolitan Hall and a New Child Development Center.
    • 2008
    • 011. Old Main 1867

    • Campus Buildings
    • Construction of Old Main began in 1867 and for 15 years, it served as the principal building on campus. Student dormitories occupied the top floors. A dining room, classrooms, library, assembly hall and labs were on lower floors. The President's...
    • Construction 1867
    • 012. Ruins of Old Main

    • Campus Buildings
    • In 1882, a third-floor chemistry laboratory caght fire and Old Main sustained considerable damage. 16-year old Helen de Lannoy painted this watercolor sketch the day after the fire.
    • 1882
    • 013. Old Main c.1883

    • Campus Buildings
    • After the fire, Old Main was rebuilt in seven months.
    • Rebuilt c.1883
    • 014. Cadets Studying in Library

    • Campus Buildings
    • As Old Main was the only Academic building of Pennsylvania Military Academy, the library was located here.
    •  
    • 015. Old Main Annex

    • Campus Buildings
    • Built after the fire in 1882, this originally housed the science laboratory. Later the building served the School of Nursing and then became home to the Writing Center.
    • Construction 1882
    • 016. Drill Hall/Gymnasium

    • Campus Buildings
    • An important part of the campus during its early years, this building was demolished in 1920 in preparation for a modern armory.
    •  
    • 017. Hyatt Observatory

    • Campus Buildings
    • Construction on this building began in 1892. The Theodore Hyatt Memorial Observatory was dedicated at the 1891 commencement ceremonies to honor the man responsible for the establishment and subsequent success of Pennsylvania Military Academy. ...
    • Construction 1892
    • 018. Theodore Hyatt

    • Campus Buildings
    • Theodore Hyatt was born on April 28, 1826 in New York. He graduated in 1849 from the College of New Jersey at Princeton, and became an educator. After founding a boarding and day school for boys called the Educational Institute in Wilmington,...
    •  
    • 019.  Alumni Lodge

    • Campus Buildings
    • Built in 1903, this popular building was demolished in 1960 in preparation for the much larger Alumni Auditorium.
    • Construction 1903
    • 020. Hyatt Hall

    • Campus Buildings
    • Constructed in the late 1860s, this building was acquired in 1917. Located at 14th and Chestnut Streets, Hyatt Hall served as the home of the Pennsylvania Military Preparatory School until the school's closing in 1956. Hyatt Hall later housed the...
    • Construction Late 1860s Acquired 1917

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK